Jacobs in fine form as Union see off U'hage

WHILE defending champions Mecer NMMU1 had the weekend off, SA Home Loans Union took a firmer grip at the top of the NMB Premier League cricket table.

Buco Uitenhage were expected to provide testing competition but in the end it was the visiting Union who pulled off a comfortable seven-wicket victory.

Uitenhage batted first and lost three early wickets. There was some resistance in the middle order but offspinner Arno Jacobs cleaned up the tail to finish with four wickets for 15 runs in 8.2 overs.

Opener Darius Botha top-scored with 52 in Uitenhage's 139 all out.

Jacobs then rounded off a fine allround performance by making an unbeaten 49 off 53 balls. Aveshan Moodaley added 47 at the top of the order as Union raced to their target with almost 20 overs to spare. Simon McGilliwie made an aggressive half-century to help Maritime Motors recover from 102 for six to 193 all out at Heatherbank.

Seamer Eugene Barnard did some early damage and eventually finished with four for 40.

Heatherbank only managed 111 in reply with Kyran van Rooyen making 41 as Old Grey won easily.

The summarised scores were:

BUCO Uitenhage v SA Home Loans Union

Uitenhage 139 in 48.4 overs (D Botha 52, L Harrop 22; R Delport 2/9, C Arnold 2/24, A Jacobs 4/15) Union 142/3 in 30.3 overs (A Moodaley 47, T Young 28, A Jacobs 49no). Union won by seven wickets

Gelvandale v PECC

Gelvandale 163 (C Stevens 24, E Koll 23; H Conradie 5/32, H Snetler 4/25) PECC 166/7 in 49.2 overs (S Conradie 33, B Luttich 36, H Snetler 30; M Ensal 2/19, R October 2/25, T Fillis 3/34) PECC won by three wickets

ADT Pirates v Motherwell

Motherwell  117 (A Labise 32, Z Doro 24; L Cunliffe 3/29, J Pretorius 3/19, J Stander 2/13) Pirates  71 (B Upman 22; L Zako 2/14, L Adams 4/20, Zokoza 4/14). Motherwell won by 46 runs

Heatherbank v Maritime Motors Old Grey

Old Grey  193 (S McGilliwie 50, J Harker 24; E Barnard 4/40, S Terblanche 3/32) Heatherbank  111 (K van Rooyen 41; S McGilliwie 2/16, B Thompson 2/14, E Potgieter 2/3, J Harker 2/24). Old Grey won by 82 runs