EC women’s football league season to start

THE much-awaited Eastern Cape SA Football Association’s Sasol Women’s League season will get under way at the weekend.

The provincial Sasol Women’s League comprises 16 teams participating in each of the nine provincial leagues but the Eastern Cape, Northern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal clubs are divided into two streams of eight teams each because of the vast travelling distances between areas, the other six provinces will play as 16-team provincial leagues.

The Nelson Mandela Bay region has five teams – City Lads FC, Manchester Babes FC, Liverpool Ladies, Continental Express and Mustangs Ladies – campaigning in the Sasol Eastern Cape Women’s soccer league Stream A.

- Mthetho Ndoni

For the full story read The Herald, or get the complete newspaper, including comics, classifieds, crosswords and back editions in our