Jonathan Jansen: Banner soils Blitzbok glory

When you live in the rainbow nation, expect a regular dose of whiplash. Just a few days ago rugby lovers were mesmerised as our national sevens team won the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series for only the second time in the history of the competition. And they did so in style.

The Blitzbokke, as they’re called, made it to eight of the nine tournament finals played in different world capitals, and won five of them.

With one tournament left, in London this coming weekend, they had already accumulated enough winning points to be declared series champions.