PE's Showtime junior award winners

Summerwood the talk of 29th Woodlands Dairy Showtime Junior Awards

Summerwood Primary School was the toast of 29th Woodlands Dairy Showtime Junior Awards on Tuesday at the Little Theatre.
The Pearson High School staging of the film turned Broadway musical, Footloose, and Summerwood's refreshing original musical adapted from two famous shows, Annie Meets Oliver claimed top honours for High and Primary School Shows of the Year respectively.
Pearson also won several other awards for production such as director Marelize Barnard and musical director Anton Steyn, plus several cast members but it was Summerwood which became the talk of the evening.
The first production ever staged by the co-ed Summerstrand school carried off the major share of awards, including the Creative Award for its creators Emily Bradley and Marlene Pieterse. Bradley also won as Best Director and Best Choreographer.
The show also won the Woodlands Dairy Trophy for Primary School Special Theatre Achievement.
The senior version of this went to Jacques Batista, who teaches drama at Collegiate Girls High School, for his creation of The Edge of Her Earth, the first physical theatre production entered for the awards.
The awards and production of this year's Showtime revue, Those Were the Days, which runs to Saturday in the Pemads Little Theatre, were presented by naming sponsor Woodlands Dairy.
They were represented on-stage by marketing officer Marilee Jansen van Nieuwenhuizen, who travelled from Humansdorp for the occasion, in collaboration with the PE Musical and Dramatric Society, supported by Business and Arts South Africa (BASA).
The full list of awards is:
Special Award
Woodridge College, for staging the highly original programme of playlets, Almost, Maine, which was difficult to classify because of its structure.
Junior Show of the Year High Schools: Pearson for Footloose; Primary school: Summerwood for Annie Meets Oliver. Special Achievement Jacques Batista, creating Edge of Her Earth; Summerwood, for the school's debut production, Annie Meets Oliver. Best Director Play: Robin Williams: Antigone; Musical: Marelize Barnard, Footloose, and Emily Bradley, Annie Meets Oliver. Best Actor Play: Reinhardt Malherbe, Antigone; Musical: Sinelitha Hewana, West Side Story. Best Actress Musical: Kalene Botha, Footloose;
Musical: Elizabeth Bain, Into the Woods Junior;
Play: Kasvia von Memerty, Antigone. Best Supporting Actor Musical: Cohen Classen, Footloose;
Play: Luzuko Mavela, Romeo & Juliet. Best Supporting Actress Musical: Ntlahla Mogoduka, West Side Story;
Musical: Hannah Stiglingh, Into the Woods Junior. In addition to these awards, Showtime is marked by accolades aimed at recognising achievement in a range of fields, which are:
Best Adult in Junior Theatre: Emily Bradley, Annie Meets Oliver; no high schools award.
Best Female Singer: Caeleigh Heradien, West Side Story; Serena Escola, Into the Woods Junior and Showtime 2018.
Best Contribution to Theatre Dance: Levern Botha, choreography for Edge of Her Earth, Emily Bradley, Annie Meets Oliver.
Best Show Routine: America, West Side Story, Kehly Windvogel; You're Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile, Annie Meets Oliver, Emily Bradley.
Best Contribution to Theatre Music: Musical Direction: Anton Steyn, Footloose; Tiaan Uys, Annie Meets Oliver.
Best Vocal Direction: Elbé Coetzee and Amanda Engelbrecht, West Side Story; Terry-Ann Jullies, Annie Meets Oliver.
Best Animal Kingdom Portrayal: Ubomi Ngqawana and Reece Bain, alternating as Baloo, the Bear in The Jungle Book.
Best Comedy Portrayal: Cohen Classen, Footloose; Hannah Stiglingh, Into the Woods Junior.
Best Ensemble: The "Four Girls" in Footloose; Both teams of four vultures in The Jungle Book.
Best Creativity: Jasques Batista, creating Edge of Her Earth; Emily Bradley and Marlene Pieterse, writing Annie Meets Olover.
Show Brochure: High School: Theodor Herzl, Antigone; St George's Prep, Into the Woods Junior.
Show Casting: Theodor Herzl, Antigone; Summerwood, Annie Meets Oliver.
Lighting Design: High and primary schools: David Limbert, Antigone, and Into the Woods Junior.
Sound Design: Carmen Plaatjes, Masy Daley, Into the Woods Junior; Virgil Matttrass and Connor Robertson, Woodridge College's Almost, Maine. The senior awards are due to be handed out on Friday February 1 at the Little Theatre...

This article is reserved for registered HeraldLIVE readers.

Simply register at no cost to proceed. If you've already registered, simply sign in.

Already registered on DispatchLIVE, BusinessLIVE, TimesLIVE or SowetanLIVE? Sign in with the same details.

Questions or problems? Email or call 0860 52 52 00.