Xiniwe coasts to Diva Run win

Zintle Xiniwe wins the 10km Diva Run on Saturday
Picture: Eugene Coetzee

Despite improving her time by two minutes, local roadrunning star Ntombisentu Mfunzi had to be satisfied with a third-place finish in the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality Legacy Project 10km Diva Run, which started and ended at Kings Beach on Saturday.

She also missed out on the R10 000 bonanza offered to the Eastern Province Athletics registered athlete who breaks the record of 34:34 set by Treloar Childs in 1990.

“The race was part of my preparations for the Cape Town marathon,” Mfunzi said.

“I knew the competition would be tough.

“I set out to finish the race in 35 minutes so I am happy with my time.”

The race was won by KPMG athlete Zintle Xiniwe in 35:26, with Liziwe Mabona (AMPA) second .

“I enjoyed the run, but I had to push myself, as I am usually training with men who keep the pace up,” the Cape Town athlete, who picked up the winner’s purse of R10 000, said.

“I was hoping to finish in 34 minutes today as I am in training for the Cape Town marathon next month, but I am pleased with this win and I am really enjoying my weekend stay in Port Elizabeth,” Xiniwe said.

Evergreen Margie Saunders won the 60-64 category in 42:08, which would have placed her second in the junior women’s category just over a minute behind the winner Vicky Oelofse.

Megan Dempster (Madibaz) won the 5km Diva run in 19:06.

“The weather was fine and the route was well manned,” EPA vice-president Irene van Eeden said.

“The NMB Traffic Department was excellent.

“Although the numbers were down on last year and the winning was a tad slower, it was a very successful event.”

No Eastern Province records were broken in any of the age categories.


10km: Senior women:

Zintle Xiniwe (KPMG) 35:26,

Liziwe Mabona (AMPA) 35:51,

Ntombisentu Mfunz (Nedbank) 36:18.

Junior women:

Vicky Oelofse (St Albans) 41:14,

Anja Webber (St Albans) 45:34,

Nomakhosi Ntliziyo (Madibaz) 49:48.


Megan Dempster (Madibaz) 19:06, Sisanda Mkwegana (Temp) 23:53, Mihadri van Straaten (Temp) 24:04.


Leave a Reply