Five vie for top EP post

SA Rugby administrator Monde Tabata Picture: GALLO IMAGES
SA Rugby administrator Monde Tabata

Five candidates have been nominated for the vacant position of EP Rugby Union president.

SA Rugby administrator Monde Tabata announced yesterday that the candidates were George Malgas, Tony McKeever, Stag Mitchell, Shaheed Patel and Andre Rademan.

The deadline for nominations was Thursday afternoon.

The new president, to replace Cheeky Watson, who resigned after eight years in the hot seat, will be named after a special general meeting at Cape Recife High School on April 8.

In addition to the five candidates for the presidency, nominations were also received for the positions of deputy president, vice-president and additional members.

The EPRU’s administration is set to be returned to local hands following the elections. The full nomination list is: President: Malgas, McKeever, Mitchell, Patel and Rademan.

Deputy president: Dennis January, Freddie Makoki, Bantwini Matika, Vernon Stuurman and Ratsela Tala.

Vice-president: Willie Blunden, Chico February, Dennis January, George Malgas and Ratsela Tala.

Additional: Willie Blunden, Verdi Campher, Lembede Dyantji, Danie Gouws, Makaya Jack, Phillip Joseph, Cannon Maasdorp, George Malgas, Shaheed Patel, Xolisa Samsam and Pieter Tee.

One thought on “Five vie for top EP post

  • March 21, 2017 at 8:53 pm

    I believe Tony Mc Keever will make an excellent President of EPRU – his blood beats rugby and his focus will solely be on getting EP rugby back to the top, Tony has a deep seated knowledge of the game, is an excellent communicator and an unmatched marketing background.


Leave a Reply