Best player nominations a surprise for Dolly

Keegan Dolly. Picture: GALLO IMAGES
Keegan Dolly. Picture: GALLO IMAGES

KEEGAN Dolly has done well to put his past bad experiences with Mamelodi Sundowns behind him and claim a place among the Premier Soccer League’s (PSL) best players of the season.

The midfielder could barely contain his excitement after being nominated yesterday for three PSL awards – Midfielder, Players’ Player and Footballer of the Season.

He said he had set modest targets for himself this season and did not expect to be Footballer of the Season with teammates like Hlompho Kekana and Khama Billiat.

“I’m proud of myself, but I didn’t expect this to happen.

“This season was about learning from the older guys like Teko Modise and Hlompho to gain all the experience I needed.

“But I missed one game and here I am being nominated – something that I will cherish for the rest of my life,” he said.

The Safa-Transnet School of Excellence product was once in the books of Sundowns’ junior team but was let go in 2012.

He achieved noticeable career ascendency soon after joining Ajax Cape Town and quickly established himself.

He returned to Chloorkop ahead of the 2015-16 season, but admitted yesterday that he thought he would never again play for the star-studded club. Dolley, 23, has missed just one match all season since his return to Chloorkop – it was Sundowns’ first league match of the season against Platinum Stars in August.

His call-up to the Bafana Bafana team to play Gambia in a 2014 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier on June 4 was the cherry on top after a spectacular season.

PSL nominees:

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season (U21): Aubrey Modiba, Rivaldo Coetzee, Sello Jaftha Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Denis Onyango, Moeneeb Josephs, Shu-Aib Walters Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Thabo Nthethe, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Vuyo Mere Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Hlompho Kekana, Keagan Dolly, Khama Billiat Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season: Khama Billiat, Keagan Dolly, Hlompho Kekana Absa Premiership Footballer of the Season: Khama Billiat, Keagan Dolly, Hlompho Kekana Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Gavin Hunt, Muhsin Ertugral, Pitso Mosimane Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Ben Motshwari v Chippa, Mpho Makola v Chippa, Thabo Rakhale v Aces Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer: Collins Mbesuma National First Division Top Goalscorer: Thabiso Kutumela MTN8 Last Man Standing: George Lebese, Cecil Lolo, Ndiviwe Mdabuka Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Thabo Nthete, Denis Onyango, Bongani Zungu Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament: Dumisani Ngwenya, Oscarine Masuluke, Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Jacky Motshegwa, Jeremy Brockie, Tendai Ndoro MultiChoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Khayelihle Shozi, Liam Jordan, Sibusiso Sibeko

Leave a Reply