Contest hots up in Ocean Racing Series

Winning pair: aQuelle Ocean Racing Series women's 1km
Winning pair: aQuelle Ocean Racing Series women’s 1km

With one round to go, winning orders can still change

THE penultimate round for season 10 of the a-Quellé Ocean Racing Series took place in great sea conditions at the weekend, with some fast times being produced. Ian Venter claimed a second 1km Ocean Swim win ahead of the current series leader, Wayne Jones, and runner-up Joshua Bellairs.

The 1km Ocean Swim, the most popular event on the morning with 154 entries, witnessed a sprint finish up the beach in the women’s race as Amy Mardon came within centimetres of beating the undefeated 1km women’s champion, Brigitte Muller, of Framesby High School. Antonella Saporta took third place.

These three also dominate the women’s overall standings in the category, which should not be affected by the results from round 10 on March 15.

Jones and Bellairs have secured the top two spots in the men’s standings and third place will be decided between PJ Duffy and Venter in the last round.

Over the longer 3km distance, it was a three-way tussle for line honours, with Daniel Jones winning his fourth race of the series from brother Jason, and Dylan Smith placing third. Rebecca Newman continued her impressive form to take her first win of the series – and possibly the overall title – by beating Denise Bosman and Liza Kingston.

While Daniel Jones has done enough to secure the overall 3km title, Jason and Bradley Reen will fight it out for the bronze and silver. Kirsten Marriott could still take the women’s title from Newman with a top-three finish in the last round. Kingston has secured third place.

Dylan Finlay, 15, continued to impress, with his ninth win this series in the 5km beach run, beating Likhaya Rooi and Siyanda Jacobs. Megan Snyman, 13, secured her sixth win of the series but still needs to take part in the final round to ensure Sunday’s runner-up, Samantha Perelson, cannot overtake her.

Annemieke Mock placed third on Sunday but will require one more race to claim the series bronze medal from Bernadette Meistre.

Sunday saw new winners in almost all of the categories for children 12 and under contesting the 1km Beach Run.

Liam Marais and Rachel Woods took the gold in the six and under age group, Jayson Archibald and Abbie Mitchell won the 7-to-8 years category, Mats Mock and Lara Kleinhans the 9-to-10 and Juan Baard and Bella Archibald the 11-to-12 years age group.

-Sports Reporter 

Leave a Reply