Bay stars tear up track at nationals

LAPPING IT UP: Chassen Bright won three races and set up a new lap record
LAPPING IT UP: Chassen Bright won three races and set up a new lap record

BAY racing stars Chassen Bright, Simon Moss and Michael Stephen put up a stellar performance in round two of the SA Kart National Championships at Killarney race track in Cape Town at the weekend.

Zanardi driver Bright blitzed the small Super Rok field in all three races to claim the overall win and set a new lap record in the process.

Moss (Energy) was the bridesmaid and Keagan Masters (TonyKart) completed the podium.

Stephen’s return was rewarded with fourth place, with Jason Hill and Maika Trzebiatowsky filling the minor placings.

Jason Smith scored his biggest win to date when he came out on top of the Junior Rok points log ahead of Kashen Naicker (Zanardi) who won the first two races, but then his chain came off in the final and his hopes were dashed.

Bloemfontein’s Stuart White (Zanardi) was third and Pietermaritzburg’s Chayse Augustus claimed a morale boosting fourth ahead of Birel drivers Delon Thompson and Neha Harpal.

Mini Rok was another well-supported and hard-fought class, but the day belonged to Aiden Strydom (Top Kart) who capped a brilliant performance four points clear of JP Hamman (Kosmic). Blaine Rademeyer (Zanardi) pipped Jordan North (Zanardi) for bronze as Dillon van Vuuren (Kosmic) and Nemo Mazwai (Top Kart) completed the top six.

Vereeniging’s Arnold Neveling scored a hard-earned win in the DD2 category that attracted a whopping 28 starters.

The Zanardi driver won the first and third race to come in ahead of Ryan Frost (Birel) who won the second race but clashed with Wesleigh Orr (Energy) in the final.

Third went to TonyKart’s Benjamin Habig who was one point clear of Eugene Britz (CRG), with Bradley Liebenberg (Birel) a further point adrift after being shovelled out of race two. Jonathan Thomas (Zanardi) rounded off the top six.

The Max Challenge turned out to be a Cape Town benefit as Zanardi driver Luke Herring ended the day five points clear of Eugene Denyssen (TonyKart) who won the opening race.

Julian van der Watt (Zanardi) pipped fellow Capetonian Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart) for third with Hilton Peters and Wesley Vosloo (TonyKart) making up the top six.

Local ace Kohen Bam (Kosmic) was in top form as he won all three Junior Max races to win from the KwaZulu- Natal duo, reigning champion Jordan Sherratt (Birel) and Clinton Bezuidenhout (Kosmic). Just one point down was Capetonian Delano Fowler (TonyKart) ahead of Henry Bam (Kosmic) and Namibian driver Adriaan Nel (CRG).


Leave a Reply