McMillan named top player

TOP PERFORMER: SWD captain Ross McMillan receives the Standard Bank Trophy from SWD Cricket Board president Rudy Claassen
TOP PERFORMER: SWD captain Ross McMillan receives the Standard Bank Trophy from SWD Cricket Board president Rudy Claassen

SOUTH Western Districts cricket captain Ross McMillan was recognised for his fine all-round efforts by being named SWD’s player of the season at the annual awards function this week.

McMillan, who also won the award in the 2010-11 season, was the top run-scorer in the Cricket SA Twenty20 competition and SWD’s top performer in the one-day competition.

At the function, the various league winners – NMMU (premier league), Blanco (promotion league), Union Stars B (reserve league), Union Stars (Twenty20) and Oudtshoorn (women’s league) received trophies, while the outstanding performers were also honoured.

Hanno Kotze, who was the top run-scorer and a member of the winning NMMU team, was the premier league player of the season. Ethan Coeries (Blanco) and Brendon Louw (Union Stars) received the corresponding awards for the promotion and Twenty20 leagues.

Andre Olivier (Union Stars), who was the most successful batsman and bowler in the reserve league, took the player of the season award, while Heroldine Rhodes was the women’s league player of the season.

Richard Maree, who was selected for the SA Colts team, was the high schools player of the season, while the versatile Brian Jack won the primary schools award.

Thashwill Julies was scorer of the season, James Phillips umpire of the season, Japhtha Julies, of Bridgton Sport Ground, groundsman of the season, Jody Jansen player of the season for players with disabilities, Henzelo Makriga the top LSEN player, and Miceala Andrews girls U19 player of the season and SWD senior women’s player of the season.

The NMMU Cricket Club, who won the premier league after they were promoted at the beginning of the season, as well as the C competition of the University Sports SA week, received the Simon Swigelaar floating trophy.

Three members who passed away during the past year – Vernon Rothman (former SWD administrator, player and selector), Clive Ferrendale (coach of Pioneers) and Leon Hurling, who played a significant role in the establishment of cricket in Heidelberg, were all recognised with a roll of honour award.

Pieter Stuurman, Sammy-Joe Avontuur, McMillan, Annemie Koen, Marnizelle Rabie and Julandi Saaiman, who all played 50 or more matches for SWD, received a special merit award, as did Adrian McLaren, who has played more than 100 first-class and limited over matches.


Leave a Reply