Five Bay players selected for Germany tournament

FIVE Nelson Mandela Bay women are in the squad of 15 which has been selected to represent the Eastern Cape in a tournament from May 14-23 in Germany.

Anelisa Ndyebi, Pakama Duru, Nwabisa Kolisi, Nosphiwo Bottoman and Jessi Heatly will be part of the visit which is an initiative by the provincial government in a twinning agreement with the state of Lower Saxony in Germany.

The twinning agreement encompasses several issues including sport which have been entered into by both governments. The tour follows a trip by a group of sports officials, provincial Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture Department representatives and government officials in 2011.

Football was represented by soccer administrator Nomalungelo Mooi and coaches Darleen Whitebooi, (both from the metro) and Nothuthuzelo Mona, from Joe Gqabi Municipality.

“We are very excited about the opportunity given to our players,” South African Football Association Eastern Cape secretary Isaac Klaas said. “This is an excellent initiative because it gives our players the opportunity to test their skills against some of the best in the world.

“South Africa is rich in talent and this initiative gives our players who are not in the national set-up an opportunity to showcase their talent.”

The squad departs on May 13 and returns on May 24.

Squad: Anelisa Ndyebi, Pakama Duru, Nwabisa Kolisi, Nosphiwo Bottoman, Jessi Heatly (Nelson Mandela Bay), Lunathi Qitsi, Siyamtanda Skeyi, Ayabonga Khaka, Zusiphe Gebengu (Amathole), Tosamo Mohalo, Reitumetsi Chabana (Joe Gqabi), Andiswe Feni (Chris Hani), Amanda November (Buffalo City), Nandipha Nojozi (Cacadu), Asive Mqwala (OR Tambo).

Non-travelling reserves: Cinayo Kupiso (Chris Hani) Phumeza Similo (Amathole), Melinda Kgadiete (Buffalo City)


THE Safa Eastern Cape under-17 trials will be held at the University of Fort Hare in Alice on Saturday.

A provincial squad of 16 players will be selected to compete in the national championships in North West Province from March 27 to April 6.

Players born on or after January 1 1998 are eligible to participate in the trials to qualify for selection. – Mogan Segadavan


Leave a Reply

Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment moderation policy. Your email address is required but will not be published.