Madibaz land another NMB league trophy

Alvin Reeves

MECER NMMU1 Madibaz collected a sixth consecutive NMB Premier League cricket title when they thumped Maritime Motors Old Grey at the campus on Saturday.

The students had been unbeaten going into the match against the former champions and had obliterated all their previous opponents in the league.

And so it proved on Saturday as NMMU1 strolled to an eight-wicket victory after having bowled Old Grey out for 115. Only Sean Adair with 33 managed to stem the tide for any reasonable length of time.

Seamer Matthew Kennedy took three wickets, while Chevrolet Warriors players Simon Harmer and David White shared four scalps.

In reply, NMMU1 raced to the target with White unbeaten on 48 and Harmer also not out on 38.

At Union, Brydon Carse took Pirates’ wickets to help his team finish second on the log by crushing Pirates by eight wickets.

Also on Saturday, Heatherbank and Northville played a low-scoring 98 all out tie.

The summarised results were:


Welcome v Gelvandale

Welcome 135 ( R Goliath 30, C Dace 24; B Walters 3/10, R Telling 2/22) Gelvandale 116 (E Kohl 58, C Dace 3/22, S Stemmet 3/29, B Monk 2/25). Welcome won by 19 runs

Mecer NMMU1 v Maritime Motors Old Grey

Old Grey 115 (S Adair 33, B Thompson 31; M Kennedy 3/11, S Harmer 2/23, D White 2/24) NMMU1 116/2 (D White 48no, S Harmer 38no). NMMU1 won by eight wickets

Despatch v Rhodes

Despatch 182 in 42.2 overs (D van Rooyen 94, G van Rensburg 36) Rhodes 183/5 in 39.1 overs (B Smith 58, S King 58 no; D van Rooyen 3/32). Rhodes won by 5 wickets

SA Home Loans Union v ADT Pirates

Pirates 79 (M Robey 26; B Carse 6/23, R Harris 2/9, R Delport 2/19) Union 80/3 in 13.3 overs (S Govender 46). Union won by seven wickets

Heatherbank v Northville

Heatherbank 98 (R Jeggels 38; M Beyden 4/38, K Marer 2/11) Northville 98 (C Haarhoff 21no; E Barnard 3/27, T Whale 4/9). Match tied

Tavcor Greenbushes v Buco Uitenhage

Uitenhage 139 (B Vlooh 31, C Botha 51; M Smith 4/42, J Langfield 3/23) Greenbushes 141/9 (D Lorenz 54, J Horn 19; N Howard 3/33, G Williams 3/21) Greenbushes won by one wicket



NMMU1 v Heatherbank

NMMU1 264/6 (C Samboer 82, U Abrahams 76, P Furstenburg 39, J Dolley 27; A Gouws 2/51, T Whale 2/46) Heatherbank 148 (R Jeggels 36, S Terblanche 27; J Engelbrecht 4/23, J Dolley 2/25, L Brown 2/23).

Greenbushes v NMMU2

NMMU2 255 (K Carroll 95, W Goosen 57, L Pietersen 34; M Smith 7/25) Greenbushes 83 (Q Grobler 17, D Ryan 17; L Chaka 5/25, W Potgieter 3/16). NMMU2 won by 172 runs

Rhodes v PECC

Rhodes 90 (L Nkohla 4/19, H Snetler 4/40) PECC 92/1 in 12 overs (J Lewis 36, H Conradie 44no). PECC won by nine wickets

Despatch v United Brothers

Postponed due to the funeral of United Brothers stalwart Zimayi Njokweni


Leave a Reply

Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment moderation policy. Your email address is required but will not be published.