Union Stars take charge in T20 final

UNION Stars clinched the Sedgars SWD Twenty20 cricket title this week when they defeated defending champions Sussex by 132 runs in a one-sided final.

Union Stars, batting first, scored a massive 188/4 in their 20 overs thanks to good contributions from Pieter Stuurman (77 not out) and Sammy Joe Avontuur (55). Sussex were dismissed for 56, with Erinn Ewerts (3/4) and Marcello Piedt (3/10) the pick of the bowlers.

Union Stars (61/1) advanced to the final after a nine-wicket victory over Thembalethu (60/9).

In the other semifinal, Sussex (113/3) beat Pacaltsdorp United (107/9) by seven wickets.

Summarised scores:


Thembalethu 60/9 (Lastword Taptumaney 11no, Marcello Piedt 4/6, Otniel Baartman 2/13); Union Stars 61/1 (Leroy Bredenkamp 43no, Reagan Booysen 11no, A Mlando 1/7). Union Stars won by nine wickets

Pacaltsdorp 107/9 (Ruall de Reuck 36, Gilroy Saaiman 18, Regald Witbooi 3/15, Regarth Olckers 2/22); Sussex 113/3 (Emile Ezau 52, Regarth Olckers 24, Enver Bezuidenhout 1/14). Sussex won by seven wickets


Union Stars 188/4 (Stuurman 77no, Avontuur 55, Godwin Plaatjies 2/37, Regald Witbooi 2/42); Sussex 56 (Ranwill Claassen 18, Ewerts 3/4, Piedt 3/10, Justin Jordaan 2/12). Union Stars won by 132 runs

Leave a Reply