Cooke wears Kings’ crown for huge year

George Byron

EP RUGBY held their own mini “night of the Oscars” when they handed out awards to top achievers after one of the longest seasons in their history.

In what will prove to be a popular choice, centre Ronnie Cooke was crowned as EP rugby’s Player of the Year.

Cooke is likely to play a key role when EP are expected to return to the Currie Cup Premier Division.

“There can be no doubt 2013 has been one of the most challenging as well as one of the most exciting years EP Rugby has been through in recent history,” EP chief executive Charl Crous said.

“It would not have been possible without the courage, commitment and determination of the players.”

Crous said the awards, which were handed out at an informal players’ end-of-year function, were just a small way of recognising the players’ achievements and contributions over the year.

Tyler Paul was the clear winner in the U19 Player of the Year section, while Aidon Davis walked away with the U21 Player of the Year award.

Davis also received an Achievement award for being selected to play for the SA U20 team in the 2013 IRB Junior World Championship.

The Most Promising Young Star of the year went to Siviwe “Shakes” Soyizwapi who, having made just four first-team appearances, was called up to the Super Rugby squad following an injury to Hadleigh Parkes, and made his Super Rugby debut in the 28-28 draw against the Brumbies.

Tim Agaba was named Rookie of the Year.

Best Try of the Year went to Sergeal Petersen for his first try against the Western Force in the debut game of the Southern Kings.

Scott van Breda was awarded a merit award for his contribution to the team, and was also named the Supporters’ Player of the Year, an award sponsored by the official supporters’ club, the Kings Army.

Ronnie Cooke received three awards in total. Aside from being elected as the Player of the Year, he was voted as the Players’ Player of the Year by his teammates, and was also elected the Most Valuable Player of the Year by team management.

The complete list of award winners are:


U19 Best player of the year – Tyler Paul

U21 Best player of the year – Aidon Davis

Most Promising Young Star – Siviwe Shakes Soyizwapi


Achievement Award – Aidon Davis

Merit Award – Scott van Breda


Rookie of the Year – Tim Agaba

Best Try of the Year – Sergeal Petersen

Players’ Player of the Year – Ronnie Cooke

Most Valuable Player of the Year – Ronnie Cooke

Overall winner

EP Rugby Player of the Year – Ronnie Cooke

Leave a Reply