Grey High bag double wicket cricket title

GREY High won the annual Vernon Malgas Double Wicket cricket competition in Gelvandale on Saturday, beating Northville by 30 runs to 13.

Grey’s Lloyd Brown, who was the batsman of the day, tore into the Northville attack, making a net score of 21, despite having nine runs deducted for being dismissed three times.

His partner Dylan Blignaut made eight and was out twice.

This gave them the useful total of 30 in their six overs and it was clear Northville would not be able to afford any dismissals.

However, Angelo Coetzee and Cylvestus Fillis got themselves out six times and ended on 13.

Fillis’s offspinners earned him the bowler of the day award and he also took the most wickets.

Blignaut hit the most sixes of the day, with six (each six counted eight runs). Northville had a bye into the final while Grey met Old Grey in the only semifinal.

Once again Brown led the way with an excellent 26 helping Grey to 41. Old Grey’s Daryn Korkie and Wayne Thompson each scored 12 for a total of 24 giving Grey an easy 17-run win.

In the plate final, the EP under-19 team of Bradley Bopp and Lylle Petersen made a score of seven.

Gelvandale replied with 24, Emmanuel Koll scoring 13 and Remano October seven.

ýThere were three exceptional performances in the NMB Premier League yesterday.

At Londt Park, fast bowler Morne Smith took eight wickets for 22 runs, including a hat-trick, as Tavcor Greenbushes gained a fine victory over PECC. At the Adcock, opening batsman Bradley Holtzhauzen smashed 156 off 154 balls to help SA Home Loans Union to 304/2 against Welcome.

Swing bowler Ryno Hamilton then took 7/28 to help his side to a 254-run win.

There was drama in one of the other matches yesterday when Heatherbank and Buco Uitenhage tied their match on 233.

Yesterday’s league results were:

Welcome v SA Home Loans Union

Union 304/2 (B Holtzhauzen 156, T Young 74no, A Moodaley 35) Welcome 50 (Ryno Hamilton 7/28) Union won by 254 runs

Tavcor Greenbushes v PECC

Greenbushes 194 (C Ricks 22, M Smith 33, W Tharratt 58; R von Waltzleben 3/41, M Dipha 2/42) PECC 55 (J Lewis 55; M Smith 8/22). Greenbushes won by 139 runs

Northville v Mecer NMMU1

Northville 73 (J Davidson 3/14, J Engelbrecht 2/13) NMMU1 77/4 in 16.4 overs (J Smit 40). NMMU1 won by six wickets

Motherwell v Despatch

Despatch 128 (N Brouwers 83; T Bukako 5/29, V Adam 3/7) Motherwell 121 (S Ndwandwa 46, N Botha 18; D van Rooyen 2/29, N Brouwers 4/30, G Kwatsha 2/25). Despatch won by seven runs

Heatherbank v Buco Uitenhage

Heatherbank 233/9 (A Welsh 27, R de Doncker 87, S Whinney 25; A Louw 4/43, R Heynes 2/52) Uitenhage 233/9 (B Vlooh 21, L Pietersen 74, M Swanepoel 59; J Ellis 4/43). Match tied

United Brothers (UB) v Gelvandale

Gelvandale 151/8 (R October 32no, C Stevens 24no, O Howard 19; P Hera 3/19) UB 152/6 (N Nzuzo 29no, S Gidana 24). UB won by four wickets

Leave a Reply