Cremer, Rembe named EP Hockey players of the year

Neale Emslie

MICHELLE Cremer and Chris Rembe, who have both made their names in the last line of defence, were named the EP women’s and men’s hockey players of the year at the annual prizegiving at the weekend.

In a year which saw plenty of provincial action, including the women’s IPT at the KC March astro in Gelvandale, there was strong competition for the evening’s top awards.

Rising star Toni Marks and the talented Nicole Kemp were the other nominations for the women’s award, while Rembe got the nod ahead of Geowynne Gamiet and Daylan Phillips.

The club of the year award went to NMMU, whose men’s team won the premier league, while the women were runners-up. Besides log positions, this award takes several other factors into account such as provincial commitment, financial good standing, discipline, communication with the EPHF and participation in the courses provided during the year.

Another major award on the night was the Connie Oh Fond President’s award, which goes to a person the president holds in high esteem. This year there were two candidates who both worked tirelessly in their service to hockey and the executive, in Iris Vaghi and Joezay Kops, with the award going to Vaghi.

The most valuable junior player awards went to Chad Cairncross and Dayna Barlow.

The awards were:

Medals for umpire (more than 10 games): Joezay Kops; Medals for tech table (more than 10 games): Joezay Kops

League winners

Women, 3rd league: 1 Crusaders, 2 WOSA; 2nd: 1 Despatch, 2 Gelvan Jumbos; 1st: 1 Old Collegians Academy, 2 Hearts Fusion; Presidents: 1 PEC Pegs, 2 Pirates Jolly Rodgers; Premier: 1 Gelvan Tornados, 2 NMMU Madibaz

Men, 2nd: 1 St Peters, 2 WOSA; 1st: 1 Gelvan Legends, 2 WOSA; Presidents: 1 Old Grey Titans 2 Rhodes Thistles; Premier: 1 NMMU Madibaz, 2 Gelvan Hurricanes

Special awards

Appreciation of service to EP Hockey Federation: Charmelle Redcliff, Keith Arnolds, Hendry Cairncross

Kenneth March Memorial Trophy Service to hockey: Veronica van Vught

Gary Dolley Most Promising Schoolboy: Laython Coombs

Gary Dolley Most Promising Schoolgirl: Shona Niekerk

Burns Delport Attorneys women’s umpire of the year: Michelle Mortimer

Burns Delport Attorneys men’s umpire of the year: Ruwayne Le Minne

National representation: Toni Marks, Nicole Kemp, Chester Scott, Chad Cairncross, Geowynn Gamiet, Daylan Phillips

Stop rhino poaching most valuable junior man: Chad Cairncross

Most valuable junior woman: Dayna Barlow

Brian Bands Sports hockey person of the year: Leroy Johnston

Brian Bands hockey personality of the year: Toni Marks

Women’s player of the year: Michelle Cremer

GM Contracting male player of the year: Chris Rembe

Colin Abrahams allround sportswoman of the year: Nicole Kemp

Colin Abrahams allround sportsman of the year: Joezay Kops

Connie Oh Fond President award: Iris Vaghi

Daphne Delport spirit award: St Peters

Brian Hibbert club of the year: NMMU

Leave a Reply