Bay boasts dramatic kart wars

THE second round of the 2013 Rotax Max Karting Challenge dished up an exciting day’s racing in ideal conditions at the Celso Scribante circuit in Port Elizabeth recently.

Port Elizabeth contestant Joshua Coertze led most of the final heat before being overcome by the ensuing mob of the consistent Dillon van Vuuren, JP Hamman and Charl Visser, all of them driving karts with Zanardi chassis.

Chayse Augustus came out on top in the fraught primary school Maxterino 60cc class, ending second in the first race behind RKT Zanardi teammate Stuart White in heat one before marching on to win the remaining three races.

Keagan Masters drove his TonyKart brilliantly to overcome a first-heat retirement to win all three remaining races to take high school Rotax Junior Max 125cc class honours ahead of Birel trio Bradley Liebenberg, race one winner Jordan Sherratt, and Jurie Swart, with Trent Varejes (Zanardi) and Shayur Harpal (CRG) next up.

SA Junior Max champion, Capetonian Eugene Denyssen (TonyKart) made the open Rotax Senior Max class his own, winning all four races on the day and defeating Richard Upton (Intrepid), Chad van Beurden (Birel) and Luke Herring (Zanardi).

Ricky Hill (TonyKart) was fifth ahead of an impressive Hilton Pieters (CRG)

The open Rotax DD2 gearbox race was run over three heats after heat two was declared a non-event, leaving Ryan Frost (Birel) to narrowly beat Nicholas Verheul (CRG) with a race apiece ahead of champion Luca Canderle (Intrepid).

DD2 Masters went the way of John van Wyk (CRG) ahead of Conor Hughes (TonyKart) and Marouan Selmi.

Young Joseph Oelz cleaned up the Baby Cadet races ahead of Kiesha Potgieter.

The third round of the Rotax Max Challenge will take place at Idube near Pietermaritzburg on August 10.

Leave a Reply

Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment moderation policy. Your email address is required but will not be published.