NMMU honour cricketer Dolley

CORBYN Dolley was named NMMU Cricket Club’s cricketer of the year at their annual prize-giving last week.

Dolley played a crucial role in ensuring the Mecer NMMU cricket team won the National University Championship (Ussa) in Port Elizabeth.

He captained the team to their third Ussa title in four years, their fifth successive EP league title, as well as their fourth T20 league title.

He was named player of the tournament at the Ussa Week and also captained the national university team announced at the end of the week.

He led the SA University team to victory in the Cricket South Africa T20 Future Cup last month, which also involved the SA Rural and CSA Colts teams.

Dolley collected 34 wickets in the league and also ended in the top 20 list of best bowlers at the National Club Championship at the end of April. He led the NMMU team to their third club champs final in five years, where they ended runners-up.

His commitment to the club is second to none and despite having a hectic cricketing schedule, he also graduated last month with a BTech in tourism.

Other awards made were:

Most promising player: Anrich Nortje; most improved club cricketer: Devon Lochhead; President’s Cup: Francois Holder; Chairman award: Baakier Abrahams; most conscientious cricketer: Storm Clarke; courage and determination: Matthew Kennedy; clubmanship: Laiken Abrahams

Leave a Reply