Piedt award epitomises SWD rise

MARCELLO Piedt, who bagged 59 wickets in his debut season in first-class cricket, has been named South Western Districts player of the season.

The 22-year-old pace bowler was awarded the Standard Bank trophy at the provincial body’s annual prize-giving at the weekend.

Piedt, who represented SA Schools in 2011, was also the highest wicket-taker in domestic first-class cricket in South Africa this past season.

In his debut match against Western Province, he achieved remarkable bowling analysis of 7/6 in 10 overs. He also received the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy for his outstanding achievements.

At a glittering event, which also celebrated SWD’s full affiliate status they received during in February, SWD Cricket president Rudy Claassen paid tribute to those who had worked over the past years to achieve this status.

“The operational structures reflect a well-oiled machine focused on delivery in an effective and efficient manner,” Claassen said. “Much effort has been made to facilitate the mainstreaming of black African cricketers within their sphere of influence.”

The award winners were:

Special award, Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy: Marcello Piedt

Schools Coca-Cola T20 top batsman: Jean Heunis (Langenhoven Gymn); Top bowler: Lance Roelfse (Outeniqua High)

Super League u-15 top batsman: Ruan Steyn (Langenhoven Gym); Top bowler: Cale van der Westhuizen (Glenwood House)

Super League u-19 top batsman: Brandon Olivier (Langenhoven Gym); top bowler: Arno Moolman (Oakdale Agric)

Women’s league, best batsman: Michaela Andrews (Oudtshoorn); best bowler: Marnizelle Rabie (Oudtshoorn)

Reserve League, best batsman: Enver Venter (Union Stars); best bowler: Shaun Dee Meyer (Union Stars)

Promotion League, best batsman: Grant Mentoor (Mayflower); best bowler: Lyndon Volkwyn (NMMU)

Premier League, best batsman: Sammy-Joe Avontuur (Sussex); best bowler: Justin Jordaan (Union Stars)

Scorer of the season: Geneveve Anthony

Umpire of the season: Faizel Samsoodien

Groundsman of the season: Irvin van Wyk, Appollis Pretorius (Military Sport Club)

Schools girls cricketer of the season: Micaela Andrews

Primary Schools cricketer of the season: Travis Ackerman

High Schools cricketer of the season: Jean Heunis

SWD women’s player of the season: Gail Abrahams

Women’s league player of the season: Monique Boosyen

Player of the season, Reserve League: Eugene Piedt; Promotion League: Kurt Fourie; Premier League: Erinn Ewerts (Union Stars)

Provincial team of the season: SWD Senior team

Player of the year: Marcello Piedt

Leave a Reply

Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment moderation policy. Your email address is required but will not be published.