Super Series action on way to Aldo Scribante

A FEAST of motorsport awaits petrolheads when national racers head for the Bay with their super hot vehicles this weekend.

The Aldo Scribante Circuit will reverberate to the roar of V8 muscle cars and other adrenalin pumping racing machinery on Saturday when Super Series action moves to the Eastern Cape for round three of the championships at the lively 2.48km-long racing circuit.

The racing circuit only has eight corners, two of which are challenging fast sweeps and a tight hairpin. Also, the track is a favourite among drivers.

Spectators also love it and a large partisan crowd ensures there’s always a carnival-like atmosphere when the national championship roadshow comes to town.

The Bridgestone Production Car event produced three different winners at the last round and will again be wide open.

Currently leading the championship is Engen Audi’s Michael Stephen, who has a slender seven-point lead over Afrox BMW’s Johan Fourie.

A strong performance in Cape Town saw Tschops Sipuka (Engen Audi S4) leapfrog into third place and tied on 44 points with Etienne van der Linde, who is in the other Afrox BMW.

Sasol Subaru’s Hennie Groenewald claimed a win in Cape Town and holds fifth place ahead of Melvill Priest in the Mueller Sports Medicine Audi S4 and Gennaro Bonafede (Ferodo Audi S4).

New cars always attract interest and the big news in Class T centres around the Ford Racing team of Gary Formato and Shaun Duminy who will have new two-litre Focus STs at their disposal for the first time.

Championship leader Graeme Nathan (Indy Oil Golf) is expecting a tough fight and has young Jacques Joubert riding shotgun, but the pair got a bit too close in the opening race in Cape Town.

The Castrol MINIs of Gavin Cronje and Lee Thompson are also expected to be quick after Cronje proved how nimble the MINI is.

Other cars to watch are the Williams Hunt supported Chevrolet Cruze of Michael van Rooyen and the Liqui Moly/Big Boss, which is sponsored by Renault, driven by Devin Robertson.

There was controversy in the SA Sports and GT event in Cape Town, but not before Darryn Lobb showed that a Shelby Can Am is capable of beating the V8 muscle cars.

Lobb, in a once-off drive in the Dotsure Shelby, qualified ahead of V8 champion Ben Morgenrood (Indy Oil/Ben Morgenrood Auto Ford Mustang) who later tangled with Larry Wilford’s Fuchs Corvette.

The Shelby Can Am has not raced at Aldo Scribante on the same day as V8s since 2006, when they proved to be just over 1.5 seconds slower.

Since then, they have improved lap times considerably and V8s are slightly slower, so it will be interesting to see which is better suited to the abrasive track – V8 brute power or sports prototype nimbleness?

Morgenrood has a handy 16-point lead over last year’s Shelby champion Rui Campos (Liqui Moly Shelby) and Wilford (Fuchs Chev Corvette) is a mere four points back.

Once again the Engen Volkswagen Cup will provide the biggest field of the day as around 25 identical two-litre Volkswagen Polos take to the track.

Since the series started in 1997, it has kept spectators on their toes and is regarded as the most competitive category on the Super Series tour.

Winners so far are Jeffrey Kruger (Indy Oil) and Kosie Weyers (Engen Primax). But Weyers, who has three wins behind his name, has emerged as the early favourite and has consistently brought Mathew Hodges (ITR) into second place ahead of Kruger.

Lady racers Tasmin Pepper (PG Glass) and Robyn Kruger (Indy Oil) are capable of surprising. Also, Pepper was the fastest qualifier in Cape Town.

As part of the SA Single Seaters event, Formula Volkswagen is likely to post the fastest lap of the day. Despite a non-finish at the opening round, Robert Wolk (Midas) is three points ahead of Nicholas van Weely (Anglorand) who won the opening race at Kyalami, during which Christopher Shorter was a distant third.

Formula 1600 has become a three-way fight as Jason and Keegan Campos are on top of the table in their Etana backed Mygales and James Temple follows in the Ferodo Mygale.

Having won three of the four 1000cc Superbike races held so far, Clint Seller (Race! Kawasaki) leads the title race from Nicholas Grobler (PTA Noord Toyota Kawasaki). Third place belongs to Motorrad BMW mounted Chris Leeson who has yet to win a race.

Stephen Steenkamp (PTA Noord Toyota Kawasaki) has proved quick in PE in the past, so he could be a threat, as could ever improving BMW rider Ryan Ottens. Allan-Jon Venter will again be on the Emtek Yamaha alongside Dylan Whyte.

Cam Petersen (Portable Shade MV Agusta) is sitting pretty at the top of the 600cc Supersport table and his main rivals are teammate Brent Harran and Lance Isaacs (Pta North Toyota Kawasaki).

The big news is that Sheridan Morias will be replacing the injured Dean Vos in the Emtek Yamaha team. Race Bike Rentals Kawasaki rider Nicholas Kershaw is also a capable rider who could be in the mix.

Entry fee for spectators is R100 and children under 12 years will be admitted for free. Contact (041)451-3936.


Leave a Reply