Oakdale new SWD under-19 champions

OAKDALE Agricultural High, from Riversdale, are the new South Western District under-19 Super League cricket champions after defeating Langenhoven Gymnasium at the weekend.

Captained by Jan Oberholzer, Oakdale won the trophy for the third time after also taking the honours in 2009-10 and 2010-11. They beat Langenhoven by 52 runs.

Put in to bat, Oakdale scored 152, thanks to valuable contributions from Ruan Barnard (27) and Arno Moolman (22). Jetro Weyers (3/18) and Brendon Olivier (3/40) were Langenhoven’s best bowlers. Arno Moolman (5/25) was in superb form for Oakdale as they dismissed Gymnasium for 100.

He was well supported by Stephan Streicher (2/12) and Jeandré Botha (2/18).

Rain denied Glenwood House, from George, a second consecutive u-15 title in their final against Langenhoven in George.

They dismissed Langenhoven for 125 and were in the driving seat at 64/2 after 17 overs when the match was abandoned due to rain.

A minimum of 20 overs an innings is required to constitute a result.

The u-15 final will be replayed on March 27.

Leave a Reply