Kings’ awards nod

George Byron

EXPLOSIVE EP Kings wing Paul Perez and his captain, Luke Watson, can put the finishing touches to an eventful season when the South African Rugby Union hosts its Player of the Year awards in Cape Town on Thursday. The pair, who played a big part in EP winning the First Division title, have been nominated for the Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year award.

Despite defeats in the double-header promotion matches against the Cheetahs, the Kings enjoyed a successful campaign and this is reflected Saru’s shortlist of the season’s top performers.

Perez and Watson are on a list that includes Hansie Graaff (Griffons), JW Jonker (Pumas) and Rudi Mathee (Pumas) for the First Division award. For Perez, in particular, the nomination is special after the drama of being sent off for punching an opponent during a match against the Pumas.

For the full story read The Herald, or get the complete newspaper, including comics, classifieds and crosswords in our e-Edition

Leave a Reply