Chris Hani region backs Masualle to serve third term

The ANC’s Chris Hani regional leaders want Phumulo Masualle to serve a third term as provincial chairman.

This is one of the resolutions the regional executive committee (REC)made at a meeting held last week.

Regional secretary Lusanda Sizani confirmed yesterday that the decision

“to retain the status quo” was made when the REC was deciding on a roadmap towards the ANC national elective conference next year.

The provincial conference is likely to be held early next year.

The ruling party has a busy schedule next year as it will hold its national general council – where delegates brainstorm on policy matters – and it selective conference where President Jacob Zuma’s successor is chosen.

The Eastern Cape has the added responsibility of electing its provincial executive committee next year.

Sizani said they also discussed the importance of reviving their branches. . . “that we have at least 500 members in each of our 110 branches”.

“It was in that context that we then resolved that as Chris Hani region we are going to call for unity,” Sizani said.

“In fact, we said we are going to lobby for non-contestation for positions so that we maintain unity within our province.

“We are saying it is important that we retain this leadership which man managed to bring stability within our movement, dating back to the River park conference.” Sizani was referring to the elective provincial conference which saw Masualle win the provincial chairman position against the now Deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas.

It was reported earlier this year that provincial secretary Oscar Mabuyane was being touted to replace Masualle as provincial chairman, but Sizani said the Chris Hani REC believed thatany contestation would not be healthy for unity.

“This is the position of the REC, but branches will have to express themselves first so that we can, as a region, speak with one voice,” Sizani said.

If the Chris Hani REC’s wishes are realised, it would mean that deputy chairman Sakhumzi Somyo, provincial treasurer Thandiswa Marawu and deputy secretary Helen Sauls- Augustare also likely to retain their current positions.


Leave a Reply