Pope leads Rotary

Staff Reporter
JILL Pope of Paradise Beach was inducted as president for 2012/13 at the 14th induction dinner of the Rotary Club of Jeffreys Bay last week.
She succeeds Salomien de Klerk of Jeffreys Bay, who had held the post for the past two years, and who will now take over as club secretary.
The black-tie event at the Savoy Hotel was attended by members of both the Rotary Club of Jeffreys Bay and the Rotary satellite club of St Francis.
At the same function the satellite club’s chairman for the next year, Lyn Aitken was inducted along with six new members of the Jeffreys Bay club and one new member for St Francis.
Service to community awards were presented to Frances Becker of Nomvula’s Knitters in St Francis, husband-and-wife team Margaret and Ronnie Crouse from Nifty Fiftys and Alison Kuhl from Supertubes Foundation in Jeffreys Bay.
Jeffreys Bay Recycling project champion, Rotarian Carina de Flamingh was a popular recipient of the Paul Harris award which is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions in placing “service above self”.
De Flamingh was also honoured with a Rotary International Significant Achievement award. Presenting her with the award, immediate past district governor of District 9320 Kevin Dersely said: “I am presenting this to you on behalf of Rotary International president, Kalyan Banerjee in recognition of the significance of your project, and the effort that you have personally made to ensure that it is successful and sustainable.”

Leave a Reply

Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment moderation policy. Your email address is required but will not be published.