Players’ dedication rewarded

Mkhululi Ndamase

FOUR times a week they run out onto their rocky, overgrown rugby field and practise their hearts out, despite having limited resources.

It is this determination that earned a Port Elizabeth township school the School Team of the Year title at the South African Sports Awards.

Ithembelihle Comprehensive School in New Brighton beat two other schools nominated in the category – Nkunzimbini Junior Secondary School in the Libode area and Eastern Cape Girls School.

Rugby captain Siphosethu Ngwalangwala and coach Theo Pieterse rubbed shoulders with some of South Africa’s top sporting stars including Olympic medallists Chad le Clos, Oscar Pistorius and Caster Semenya at the awards, held in Johannesburg on Sunday.

For the full story read The Herald, or get the complete newspaper, including comics, classifieds and crosswords in our e-Edition

Leave a Reply