Camdeboo ‘best place in East Cape’

Luyolo Mkentane

DUBBED the best place to live in the Eastern Cape, Graaff-Reinet’s Camdeboo Municipality emerged as the biggest winner at the Vuna Awards in Port Elizabeth last night, walking away with R105000 in prize money.

Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality won in one category – “continuous maintenance of an unqualified audit outcome” – scooping R45000. The metro has received unqualified audit outcomes for the past five financial years.

The awards, an initiative of the Eastern Cape Department of Local Government and Traditional Affairs, are aimed at encouraging municipalities to deliver services better, and to spend their budgets and the municipal infrastructure grant (MIG) effectively. They are also aimed at ensuring municipalities maintain good audit outcomes and improve on revenue collection.

Local Government MEC Mlibo Qoboshiyane, who delivered the keynote address at the function at The Willows, said the criteria used in adjudicating for the awards focused on annual municipal performance reports for the 2009/10 financial year.

The audited annual financial statements and MIG expenditure reports for the 2010/11 financial year were also taken into account, he said.

The Camdeboo Municipality’s big win came from their strong placings in two categories. They were grouped with Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality in having achieved “continuous maintenance of an unqualified audit outcome”, earning them R45000, and they came second in the category of “municipalities that spent 100% of their MIG during the 2009/10 financial year” – which earned them R60000.

The Chris Hani District Municipality won R80000 for coming tops in the category of “municipalities that spent 100% of their MIG”. The Senqu Municipality came third in this category, winning R50000.

The MIG is an initiative by which national government provides critical funds to local governments to finance infrastructure development in poor communities.

Other municipalities that won in the category “continuous maintenance of an unqualified audit outcome” included Matatiele, Senqu and Cacadu municipalities.

Elundini local municipality scooped R55000 in the “best performance in revenue collection” category, with Ingquza Hill Local Municipality also winning R55000 in the category of “best performance in debt reduction”.

The award for the cleanest town, which carried a prize of R25000, went to the DA-run Baviaans Municipality in Steytlerville. Municipalities that won in the category “most improved audit outcome (from qualified to unqualified opinions)”, included Amathole, Ingquza, Umzimvubu, Tsolwana, Blue Crane, Mnquma and Elundini municipalities, each winning R35000.

Leave a Reply