Four province focus for election security

POLICE operations will be intensified in four “hotspot provinces” ahead of the May 18 local government elections, Police Minister Nathi Mthethwa said today (May 9).

They are KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, North West and the Western Cape, he told reporters in Pretoria.

While there were currently no indications of any major threat during the elections, approximately 75,000 police officers would be deployed around the country, with strong support from the SA National Defence Force, the intelligence community and various traffic departments.

About 50,000 of those police officers would be at 21,868 polling stations throughout the country.

“The intelligence structures have done a risk analysis at each and every polling station and we will deploy between two and four police officials at each polling station according to the risk analysis.

“We are confident that the local government elections will be safe and secure. Our confidence stems from an assurance that many law-abiding citizens are with us as we endeavour to ensure we deal a blow to criminals and their evil intentions,” Mthethwa said.

He warned against provocation, insult or abuse of police officials by party members.

Leave a Reply