Family at heart of his world

THE radio jock with the velvet voice is not heard on the airwaves as often as when he was a DJ – these days Selwyn Willis spends more time developing a strategy on how to grow the number of listeners for community radio station BayFM than he does behind the microphone.

However, he is best known for his stints on air – first at AlgoaFM and then at BayFM – and the many glam events, many for charity, for which he has been master of ceremonies.

Willis chose the Verandah at the Beach Hotel for brunch, washing down a hearty breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and egg with black coffee.

Very much a family man, he told La Femme he is amazed at his children’s talents: 10-year-old Kelsey plays the saxophone and does well academically while 12-year-old Keegan plays the guitar and has dreams of being an IT whiz or a professional soccer player.

It helps, of course, that his very beautiful wife, Natasha, who runs her own business these days, comes from an artistically talented Port Elizabeth family, with music and dancing running in the genes.

I have a soft spot for … My daughter’s puppy-dog face when she wants something from me.

I should have studied … Psychology and politics. It is part of the radio make-up.

I’d love to party with … Businesswoman Kimora Lee Simmons.

I’m listening to … My son’s favourite song K-pop runaway hit, Gangnam Style (not by choice)!

My music “weakness” is … Listening to old-school romantic ballads (don’t tell anyone!)

I find it hilarious when … Politicians profess to be innocent when the evidence speaks differently.

When I was 16, I wish I knew … Shaving was a very bad idea!

I’ll know I’ve made it when … My SL 350 AMG is parked in the garage.

The person who has taught me the most is … My wife.

Nothing makes me happier than … Spending quality time with my gorgeous wife and my kids.

I absolutely hate … Shoddy service.

I am saving to buy … Well, my son wants an X-Box 360 Connect, my daughter wants Hello Kitty clothing and a Nintendo DS, my wife an i-Pad, Uhm, next question!

I share my life with … Family and good friends who are always looking out for me.

I can’t go a day without … My Samsung Galaxy tab.

My favourite places in the metro are … Walmer Park for shopping, Vovo Telo in Richmond Hill for their pasteis de nata pies, Cafe Capellini for breakfast, Mugg and Bean for coffee and blueberry muffins and Heinz in Style whenever I emcee at a function.

Leave a Reply