Lightning strikes twice for EC financial whizz

Business Reporter

ONE of the five finalists in the Businesswoman of the Year Award is from the Eastern Cape – making it the second time this has happened.

East London Industrial Development Zone chief financial officer Ntombizine Madyibi has again been nominated as a finalist in the Businesswomen’s Association corporate sector category. In 2007, she received this prestigious honour when she was nominated in the same category.

The competition is the longest running for South African women in business. Also, only two finalists are selected in the corporate category and three in the entrepreneurial segment.

Association president Liepollo Lebohang Pheko said the award, which had been running since 1980, focused on recognising achievements of women in business.

“It is gratifying for the [association] to have again assembled a powerful shortlist of impressive finalists for this year’s award in our two categories.

“This indicates the wealth and depth of talented women in this country who contribute to building our economy and strengthening our economic and development priorities,” Pheko said.

The other finalist in the corporate award category is the chief financial officer at Group Five, Cristina Teixeira.

This year’s entrepreneurial finalists are: Thandi Ndlovu, Elma von Plaster and Shauneen Procter.

The Businesswoman of the Year gala dinner will take place in Johannesburg on August 22.

Leave a Reply